Title: Contact Management in Unanet: Inactivation vs. Deletion
When a contact is no longer current or valid for an organization, you have the option to either inactivate the contact or delete it from your system entirely. This Quick Topic reviews these options in detail, and offers Unanet's suggested best practices for managing contacts.
What’s covered in this document:
The Unanet roles that can search, view, edit, and delete Organization Contacts are the Administrator, P&R Administrator, AP Admin, AR Admin, GL Admin, Contact Manager, and Contact Viewer.
Available actions can be further restricted for the Contact Manager and Contact Viewer roles via the Organization Access configuration.
If a contact is no longer associated with an Organization, you may want to keep their contact information on file for various reasons, including but not limited to:
To retain the contact's information and all associated data throughout your system, we recommend inactivating the contact. This will allow the contact to appear in search results and reports, and gives you the ability to reactivate them without rebuilding the entire Contact profile. Note that inactive contacts do not count toward your Unanet user count.
To inactivate a contact:
NOTE: If a contact is assigned as the Bill To, Ship To, or Remit To contact for an Organization, you will need to reassign another contact as the default for the Organization BEFORE inactivating them.
If a contact is no longer associated with an organization, and you do not wish to maintain their data for one of the reasons listed above, you have the option to delete the contact from your system. Please note that deletion is a permanent removal of the contact and all of their associated data from your system; the data cannot be recovered once you have deleted it.
To delete a contact:
Help Docs - Organization - Contacts